Ronald L. Parratt

Ron has over 40 years of exploration experience for precious metals including service with Santa Fe Pacific Gold, Homestake Mining Company, AuEx Ventures, and Renaissance Gold Inc. During his years of precious metals experience Ron had direct involvement in the discovery of the Rabbit Creek (now Twin Creeks), Lone Tree, Trenton Canyon, Gold Hill, and Long Canyon gold deposits – all in Nevada.
Ron is a graduate of Purdue University with degrees in geochemistry and economic geology. Recognized as a Certified Professional Geologist with the American Institute of Professional Geologists, he is a Registered Geologist in California and a Professional Geologist in Wyoming. He is a Fellow of the Society of Economic Geologists and a past President of the SEG Foundation. He is also a past President of the American Exploration and Mining Association. Ron is a Distinguished Member of Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration and a past board member of the Society.

Jerry Gauntt

Jerry Gauntt is a mining professional with 40 years of industry experience. Trained as a mineral economist (Penn State) he has primarily worked for large mining firms as well as several consulting organizations in numerous management roles.
During his career, Jerry has worked at Rio Tinto (Luzenac), ASARCO, Imerys and Rocky Mountain Energy primarily selling a wide variety of metals and industrial minerals. Consulting roles include lengthy service with Golder Associates. Additional consulting roles were with Marston & Marston and Kline & Company. In addition to leading mining business development activities, his consulting experience also included assisting numerous clients with due diligence reviews involving mineral investments.
Jerry has been an active SME member since 1978. He twice served as the Chairman of the Industrial Minerals & Aggregates Division (2016 and 2019). Currently he is a member of SME’s Structure & Governance Standing Committee. In addition to being a regular attendee at the SME Annual Conference & Expo, he frequently participates in many regional events including the conferences in Duluth, MN, New York, NY (CTMF) and Lakeland, FL.

Catherine A. Joyner

Catherine “Cat” Joyner is a professional mining engineer with over 20 years of diverse mining experience in industry, government, and consulting, both in the U.S. and internationally. In 2015 Cat and two business partners started Minetech USA, where she is currently principal and co-owner. Cat specializes in underground mine planning and NI 43-101 compliant studies, and in 2016 she became a member of the inaugural class of inductees into the Maptek Hall of Fame for her significant contributions in developing and advancing Vulcan software since 2000.
In her more than 20 years as a member of SME, Cat has served as Mining & Exploration Division Chair, GPAC Chair, member of the Nominating Committee, and charter member of both GPAC and the Mining Engineering Associate Editorial Board. Cat has also assisted programming efforts numerous times, implemented restructuring of the M&E Division Award Committees, reviewed and revised the M&E Division Bylaws, and spearheaded writing the M&E Division Handbook. In 2016, Cat received the Mining & Exploration Division Distinguished Service Award.
Cat earned her B.S. in Physics with a minor in German at the University of California, Davis, and received two M.S. degrees in Mining Engineering and Environmental Engineering at Montana Tech.